In The Father’s House…

golden-rays

By Wes Mason

My Father’s house there are many dwelling places (homes)….. ~ John 14:2a

Father, Dad, Daddy, my old man, Pop, Abba. We call our earthly fathers a few different names. If we are blessed we have, or have had a good father in our lives. I am one of the lucky ones that did. Curtis H. Mason Jr. He worked hard, loved his wife Josephine, children, grandkids, family and friends. He was a faithful deacon in the Baptist church where he and mom attended until he died Dec. 5th, 1998 from lung cancer. He was a gentle man that loved to laugh at himself and others when they did or said something funny. Not perfect by any means, but he set a good example for his 3 kids and Grandkids. I miss him a lot and often wish I could just set and talk about my sons with him.

Our relationship with our earthly fathers influence us in our view of God our heavenly father. If we had a good, loving, affirming father (or father figure) then that will also help us view our heavenly father in the same manner, but the reverse is also true. If you were constantly seeking your earthly father’s approval, or in conflict with them, you may also wrestle with these and other issues with our heavenly father.

Let me make this perfectly clear, there is NOTHING you can do to make God love you more and… there is NOTHING you can do to make God love you less. His love towards us is PERFECT, complete and unchangeable just as he is perfect and unchangeable. We cannot earn, nor do we need to earn his love. He offers his love, that never fails, through his son Jesus Christ who has done everything needed by this death on the cross and resurrection to bring us before God free from the stain and power of sin.

When I was in the USAF my favorite event of the year was to come home to my father and mothers house on leave. I knew I would be greeted with great love, see all my family and friends and have a warm, safe place to rest my head (and eat mom’s great home cooking). I never had to worry about my parents love, they made it clear in how I was treated, even if I had made some poor choices in my life that hurt me, them and others. They never stopped loving and caring.

God’s love is far superior to any earthly parent. As my earthly fathers house was always open for his children, our heavenly fathers house is always open to all who will accept his invitation to come into his Kingdom.

The Apostle Paul uses a great phrase in Eph. 2:19, “Now therefore ye are no more strangers and foreigners, but fellow citizens with the saints, and of the household of God.”

We, YOU AND I who have called on the name of the Lord and received the gift of eternal life, are members of God’s household. WE ARE FAMILY! God is our loving, caring, providing, discipling, eternal, heavenly father. We are his children. We have more blessing in this relationship than we can count and we have great responsibilities that accompany those blessing.

God of Our Fathers 

God of our fathers, whose almighty hand
Leads forth in beauty all the starry band
Of shining worlds in splendor through the skies,
Our grateful songs before Thy throne arise.

Thy love divine hath led us in the past,
In this free land by Thee our lot is cast;
Be Thou our ruler, guardian, guide and stay,
Thy Word our law, Thy paths our chosen way.

From war’s alarms, from deadly pestilence,
Be Thy strong arm our ever sure defense;
Thy true religion in our hearts increase,
Thy bounteous goodness nourish us in peace.

Refresh Thy people on their toilsome way,
Lead us from night to never-ending day;
Fill all our lives with love and grace divine,
And glory, laud, and praise be ever Thine.

May you rest in the sure and certain knowledge that your heavenly fathers un-earnable love for you never ceases or comes to an end. His “home” is always open; his invitation to join his household is never rescinded.

“Behold, I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears My voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and dine with him, and he with Me.” ~ Rev 3:20 NKJV

One thought on “In The Father’s House…

  1. Great post !! I am reminded of 1 John 4:18… There is no fear in love; but perfect love casts out fear, because fear involves torment. But he who fears has not been made perfect in love. (NKJV)

    That perfect love is the love Christ filling our our heart, mind, and soul with His love, joy (John 15:11), and peace beyond our mortal understanding…Philippians 4:6-7…

    Blessings in Christ, bruce

    Like

Leave a Reply

