Gratitude & Contentment

chairs-on-porch

By Wes Mason

“At all times and for everything giving thanks in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ to God the Father.” ~ Ephesians 5:20 AMP

My wife Cindy and I watch a lot of home and garden TV. She loves to watch real esate shows were folks get their first home. I always love it when the couple is grateful and content with what they find, BUT… in way too many of those show we hear a LOT of I MUST HAVE, THIS IS NOT GOOD ENOUGH FOR ME, THIS WILL NEVER DO ect. There seems to me to be a very high level of entitlement among so many people. I MUST have….. granite tops, stainless steel appliances and the finest wood floors, my bathroom MUST have double sinks and a high dollar shower, ect ect ect.

I have seen couples be rude and disrepectful to each other over their differences about what THEY want and MUST have verses what the other buyer thinks is important.

I was blessed to be rasied and influenced by people that went through the great depression and WW2. They had a great philosophy, use it up, wear it out, make do or do without. They knew what really was important. Life is not made up of the material things in our lives, they can dissapear in a heartbeat. This helps me keep material things in perspective. I am not immune of the lure of things I desire either I just need to keeping remembering that we come into this world with nothing and we will take nothing with us when we go.

Today we are in a consumer driven society based on discontent and dissatisfaction and near instant gratification. All around us we are bombarded with messages about only being satisfied with the best because nothing else will do for us because we deserve it. There is very little thankfulness and gratitude or contenment.

Yet God word has an entierly different perspective on this:

“[And it is, indeed, a source of immense profit, for] godliness accompanied with contentment (that contentment which is a sense of inward sufficiency) is great and abundant gain.” ~ 1 Tim 6:6 AMP

The materially weathly lives that so many in this country strive for can be a deadly distraction to that which is really important. When I pass into eternity I can take nothing material with me. It will be who I am in Christ and what I have done for his Kingdom which will be judged by God, not the car I drove, the house I lived in or the job I had.

Hebrews 9:27New King James Version (NKJV)
27 And as it is appointed for men to die once, but after this the judgment.

Eternity beckons all of us. May God help us keep our eyes focused on him and find us faithful, thankful, grateful and content for all he has done for us thought his son Jesus Christ.

GIVE THANKS WITH A GRATEFUL HEART

Give thanks with a grateful heart
Give thanks to the Holy One
Give thanks because He’s given Jesus Christ, His Son

And now let the weak say, “I am strong”
Let the poor say, “I am rich
Because of what the Lord has done for us”

Give thanks, give thanks.

Amen

Wes Mason is a native of Richmond VA. He served in the USAF after graduating in 1974 and lived in NM, TX, MA and the UK. While in TX, he recognized God’s calling on his life and was ordained in a small Pentecostal Church in 1984. He moved to Boston to finish college, and while there, was involved in campus ministries as a student leader and a prison ministry volunteer. After college Wes moved back to Richmond in 87, very quickly was asked to be part of the Good news Jail and Prison Ministry at Henrico County Jail west. Currently Wes provides pulpit supply for 11 local Baptist churches. He’s married to my wife Cindy, a school teacher since 88, and has 2 great sons. Wes is a member of Hunton Baptist Church in Glen Allen, Va. Wes plays the 5 string banjo and guitar for a hobby. You can connect with Wes via email: wesmason56@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

